A lesson snippet showing listening decoding

Posted: September 22, 2018 in Listening

In the past, whenever I did a workshop on decoding authentic recordings with learners, I’d invariably hear this from someone in the room: ‘But surely this is only for advanced learners??’

In my experience, you can certainly do decoding with Pre-Intermediate learners and higher, so I thought I’d record a snippet with my new group, which is B1. We’re doing listening decoding for the first time with this group in this lesson.

Before this part of the lesson, we watched four 30-second authentic videos for gist (these were videos showing small talk, and the task was to identify the topic discussed). The learners are now working with a gapped transcript, transcribing questions and responses from the video.

All in all, we spent 19 minutes doing listening decoding in that lesson: 14 minutes transcribing and then 3 minutes summarizing the features we’d heard. We then moved on to categorize the questions and have a bit of practice making small talk.

I generally try to incorporate listening decoding in this way every 2-3 lessons, and I also set TubeQuizard quizzes based on the same video for homework. And I normally start noticing progress in my learner’s ability to cope with ‘standard’ AmE accents after about 5-6 lessons that have a listening decoding element.

Comments
  1. Adi Rajan says:

    I’m so envious of that wall you can write on, Olya! Thank you for sharing a recording of your classroom – I don’t think I’d ever have the confidence to do something like this but it just makes the technique so very clear!

    • olyasergeeva says:

      Thanks a lot, Adi! Yeah you’re right, it’s scary – but my experience trying to *explain* these techniques to my colleagues at EPAM was clear proof that one’s got to demonstrate them..

  2. Valentina Aspidova says:

    Wow! What a treat! Thank you, Olya for the live lesson! I’m going to watch it more than once to pick up the techniques. Is it OK if I share this post on youtube?

  3. Marc says:

    Excellent post, Olya. Lovely illustration of how decoding can work as a form focus. I love this!

  4. […] how to teach decoding skills to help students understand connected speech (5 minutes 30 seconds). This blog post explaining a little more accompanies the […]

  5. Awesome! Thank you for sharing. I’m in the middle of a CC Project with some clients and we’ve been working on this. I too have seen an improvement in their ability to realize the non-stressed sound and words. Also, their ability to use context and linguistic clues to guess and then hear the quiet words and sounds has improved.

  6. Anonymous says:

    This vid is excellent! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a comment